The Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter

by Susan Wittig Albert
Best-selling author of
The China Bayles Herbal Mysteries

Hill Top Farm

The Cottage Tales is a mystery series for readers of all ages, featuring beloved author and illustrator Beatrix Potter. In 1905, Beatrix bought a farm in England's beautiful Lake District. The books in this series (eight are planned) follow her adventures as she gradually moves away from her London life as a dutiful Victorian-age daughter, and into an independent life that offers new hopes, new love, and the possibility of self-determination. You will enjoy the authenticity of the historical setting and the details of Beatrix's life, smile at the antics of the animals, and warm to the strong feeling of place and community. A stand-out series, for adult and young adult readers.

"Like the English-country-life novels of Miss Read and Angela Thirkell,
Albert's Beatrix Potter books are balm for the soul
and entertaining forerunners to a good night's sleep."
Richmond Times-Dispatch

  1. The Tale of Hill Top Farm (2004) —The Tale of Hill Top Farm tells how Beatrix Potter acquired her farm in the tiny hamlet of Near Sawrey, and how her farm began to change her life.

  2. The Tale of Holly How (2005) —A shepherd falls from a cliff, his sheep have gone missing, and Tabitha Twitchet, Crumpet, and Rascal, want to know how, why, and who. Add to this the mysteries at Tidmarsh Manor and Bosworth Badger's Brockery on Holly How, and Miss Potter has her hands full.

  3. The Tale of Cuckoo Brow Wood (2006) —Rats, cats, fairies, and a lady with a mysterious past. Is she a witch, or just out to cause trouble in the Land between the Lakes? Beatrix discovers all the answers.

  4. The Tale of Hawthorn House (2007) —A foundling baby, gypsies camped in the meadow, a fox on the loose, and a nest of unhatched eggs. Miss Potter has another flock of mysteries to solve!

  5. The Tale of Briar Bank (2008) —An antiquities collector dies in an accident, a badger takes a winter swim in Moss Eccles Tarn, and a dragon discovers that there's more to life than guarding a treasure. The villagers are mystified, but our Miss Potter is on the case.

  6. The Tale of Applebeck Orchard (2009) —A footpath closing, a mysterious ghost, and big doings at The Brockery, where Bosworth Badger begins to think about handing over the Badger's precious Badge of Authority. And important developments in various village romances!

  7. The Tale of Oat Cake Crag (2010) —An aeroplane is terrorizing the people and animals of the Land Between the Lakes—until the aeroplane's developer meets an unfortunate accident. But in Near Sawrey, romance blooms. Can it be that a wedding will soon occur? Whose? (Or as our Owl would say: Whooooose?)

  8. The Tale of Castle Cottage (2011) —It's the heart of summer in 1913, and Beatrix is eager to marry her fiancé, solicitor William Heelis. But there are a few obstacles blocking the happy couple's path to the altar, including (of course!) opposition from Mr. and Mrs. Potter and a slight problem with the remodeling of Castle Cottage. The final book in the series.