The Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter

The Tale of Oat Cake Crag

by Susan Wittig Albert
Best-selling author of
The China Bayles Herbal Mysteries

The Tale of Oat Cake Crag
Order your autographed,
personalized copy now

Order from

Order from Barnes & Noble

Read the first chapter

Read about Miss Potter's recent (2011) triumph
in her battle with the Waterbird and her
sweet revenge over arch-nemesis Winston Churchill.


In 1911, the Water Bird, England's very first hydroplane, began making test flights on Lake Windermere—much to the consternation of the neighbors, the farmers, and the animals of the Land Between the Lakes. This is the story of what happened to the Water Bird, and who was responsible, and why. And yes, there is a dragon in this story: Thorvaald is back from his round-the-world Dragon Census assignment—just in time for another magical adventure!

The Tale of Oat Cake Crag is also the continuing story of the blossoming romance between Miss Beatrix Potter and her solicitor, Will Heelis—and a pair of other village romances, for good measure. You won't want to miss all the goings-on in Sawrey!

Praise for The Cottage Tales:
"The third-person narrator [of the Cottage Tales] is a time-traveling wonder, capable of living in the past—1912 in this book—and giving readers the perspective of a modern person. Plus she has a wonderful, wry sense of humor...if she isn't the best third-person narrator in the business, I don't know who is!" The Cozy Library

"Charming...Albert does a fine job of recreating the wistful, nostalgic mood of Potter's children's books." —Publishers Weekly

"Because you are fond of fairy-tales...I have made you a story all for yourself, a new one that nobody has read before." —Miss Beatrix Potter

"Whimsical, fanciful and magical...a precious tale." —Genre Go Round Reviews

"Albert successfully conveys the atmosphere of Potter's own writing and pictures...The reader is plunged into a magical yet real world of people with problems and animals with common sense. This is the first of a series. Bring on the rest!" —Janet Overmyer,

"An exceptional mystery novel where we not only get to see some puzzles solved, but we also meet some wonderfully rich and vibrant characters. The reader also gets a wonderful picture of English village life and a tantalizing look into the heart and soul of one of the world's most famous children's book writers." —The Looking Glass Review

"...This is a book for all ages, but it seems to fit the bill perfectly for middle-schoolers who are looking for mysteries and like animal stories...Beatrix is not only an author and illustrator, she is a first-rate sleuth. We bet this series will appeal to you and your middle-school mystery fan." —The Detroit Free Press

The Map:
Oat Cake Crag
Click thumbnail for jpeg map
(or click here for pdf version)

Click for recipes

Sixth book in the series: The Tale of Applebeck Orchard

Eighth book in the series: The Tale of Castle Cottage

Text and graphics ©2007-2017 Susan Wittig Albert. Do not use without written permission.


hits counter